GroupCreated with Sketch.
BA_LogotypeCreated with Sketch.
GroupCreated with Sketch.
BA_AngelColorCreated with Sketch.
Become a better angel
January 16, 2018

Hunter Baker
Associate Professor of Political Science, Union University

David Blankenhorn
President, Better Angels

Raina Sacks Blankenhorn
The José Limón Dance Foundation

Mark Boyd
Goodwill Industries of Southern New Jersey and Philadelphia

Francis Fukuyama
Olivier Nomellini Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, Stanford University

Jonathan Haidt
NYU Stern School of Business and Author of "The Righteous Mind"

Sheila Kloefkorn
President & CEO, KEO Marketing

April Lawson
Editorial Assistant for David Brooks and Ross Douthat, The New York Times

JoAnn Luehring
Roberts and Holland, LLP

Kouhyar Mostashfi
Senior Software Engineer, CSRA

David Myers
Professor of Psychology, Hope College

Katherine Novikov
Executive Board Member & Former CEO, Diamond Mind
Co-Founder, DMBS Holdings

Jonathan Rauch
Senior Fellow in Governance Studies, Brookings Institution

Dean Schooler
Schooler Family Foundation

Greg Smith
Better Angels Southwest Ohio Alliance Co-Chair

Thomas K. Sylvester


David Blankenhorn
Founder and President

William J. Doherty
Senior Fellow

David B. Lapp
Lead Organizer

Ciaran O'Connor
Director of Communications

John Wood, Jr.
Director of Media Development

Hillary Luehring-Jones
Director of Administration

Charity Navarrete


Citizen Professional Center, University of Minnesota

Civil Politics

Dakota County Library

Hennepin County Library

Kenan Institute for Ethics, Duke University

Listen First Project

Minnesota Campus Compact

On Being / Civil Conversations Project

Ramsey County Library

The Village Square


Better Angels leaders are volunteer public ambassadors for our mission, advisors to our board and staff, participants and leaders as time and interest permit in our program, and eligible delegates to our annual leadership gathering. Affiliations listed for identification purposes only.

Better Angels Regional/State Coordinators

Duane Beck
North Carolina, South Carolina

George Bouhasin
North Texas (Dallas and surrounding region)

Peter Cunniff

Deborah Davis

Denice Davis

Riley Hart
New York State

Sheila Kloefkorn

Cindy Kyser
Alabama, Mississipi, and Arkansas

Laura Law
Oklahoma (co-coordinator with Dan Watson)

Blake Phillips
Washington, DC

Kouhyar Mostashfi

Donna Murphy
Florida, Hawaii, Oregon, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia

Joaquin Munoz
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin

Paul Norris
California Bay Area (San Francisco and surrounding region)

Karen Reiner
Delaware, New Jersey

Rob Robertson
Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, California, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, South Texas, Tennessee, Utah, Wyoming

Laura Russ

Steve Saltwick
Central Texas (Austin and surrounding region)

Tom Smerling

David Throop
Upper Gulf Coast Texas (Houston and surrounding region)

Dan Watson
Oklahoma (co-coordinator with Laura Law)

Business, Finance, and Philanthropy Leaders

Peter McCrea
President, Cavendish Impact Foundation

Richard Smucker
Executive Chairman of the Board, The JM Smucker Company

Herman Sperling
CEO of HJS Markets LLC

Civic Leaders

Enola Aird
Founder and Director, Mothers for a Human Future

Peter Beaupre, Greg Christiana, and Michael Spiegelman
Democracy Unite

Charles (Chic) Dambach
Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow, Johns Hopkins University

Pearce Godwin
Listen First Project

Lanae Erickson Hatalsky
Vice President for the Social Policy & Politics Program, Third Way

Randy Hicks
President and CEO, Georgia Center for Opportunity

Liz Joyner
President, The Village Square

Elizabeth Metraux
Director of Communication and Development, Primary Care Progress

Hawk Newsome
Black Lives Matter

Steven Olikara
Millennial Action Project

Parisa Parsa
CEO, Essential Partners

Jenni Prisk
Chairwoman, San Diego County Commission on the Status of Women & Girls

Steven G. Seleznow
President & CEO, Arizona Community Foundation

Leah Wolfthal
Founder, Ayeish

Felicia Wong
President and CEO, The Roosevelt Institute

Counseling & Therapy Leaders

Mark Edison
Clinical Psychologist (New York, NY)

Kathleen A. Kovner Kline
The Consortium (Philadelphia, PA)

Greg Popcak
Executive Director, Pastoral Solutions Institute; and Director of the MA in Pastoral Studies Program at Holy Cross College (Steubenville, OH)

Faith Ralston
Executive Coach (MN)

Elizabeth Doherty Thomas
The Doherty Relationship Institute (MN)

Creative Artist Leaders

Nicky Case
Game Designer and creator of The Evolution of Trust

Dana LaCroix

Richard Lynch

Michele Richardson
Actress and Filmmaker

Lanny Smith
Professional Songwriter and Peace/Environmental Advocate

Sage Snider
Fiddling Historian

Peter Yarrow
Activist and Musician, Peter, Paul, and Mary

Law Leaders

The Honorable Leah Ward Sears
Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP; retired Georgia Supreme Court Chief Justice

Keith Wright
Davidoff Hutcher & Citron LLP; Former NYC Assemblyman

Library Leaders

Lois Langer Thompson
Hennepin County Public Library, MN

Marketing Leaders

Sheila Kloefkorn
CEO/President, KEO Marketing, Inc.

Political Leaders

J. Stuart Adams
Majority Whip, Utah State Senate

Dawn Frandsen
Chief of Staff, Office of J. Stuart Adams, Majority Whip, Utah State Senate

Jay Chaudhuri
North Carolina State Senator, Wake County

Program Evaluation Leaders

Ravi Iyer
Civil Politics

Matthew Levendusky
University of Pennsylvania

C.J. Peek
University of Minnesota

Rohit Ramaswamy
Gillings School of Global Public Health

Religious Leaders

Rev. Dr. Joanna Adams
Pastor Emerita, Morningside Presbyterian Church (Atlanta, GA)

Rt. Rev. Mark M. Beckwith
Bishop of Newark

Bishop Ronnie C. Crudup, Sr.
New Horizon Church International (Jackson, MS)

Mark DeMoss
DEMOSS Public Relations

Rev. Andrew Kline
St. Augustine of Hippo Episcopal Church (Norristown, PA)

Rev. Brandan Roberston
Missiongathering Christian Church (San Diego, CA)

Bishop Michael Sheridan
The Catholic Diocese of Colorado Springs

Andrew Walker
Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convetion

Rev. Amy Ziettlow
Evangelical Luthern Church in America and Author, Homeward Bound: Modern Families, Elder Care, and Loss

Scholars / Academic Leaders

Brien Benson
George Mason University & Clarewood University

Charles Camosy
Fordham University

Stephen Clements
Asbury University

Amy Cox
Arcadia University

Alan Hawkins
Brigham Young University

William Mattox, Jr.
The James Madison Institute

Lawrence M. Mead
New York Uuniversity

Hassan I. Mneimneh
Middle East Alternatives

Matt Motyl
University of Illinois at Chicago

Noah M. Pickus
Duke Kunshan University (DKU)

Glenn Stanton
Focus on the Family

Karen Swallow Prior
Liberty University

Robin Fretwell Wilson
Illinois College of Law

Ajume Wingo
University of Colorado, Boulder

Andrew Yarrow
U.S. Historian and Author

Social Services Leaders

Bill Boomer
Catholic Charities, Diocese of Cleveland

Writers, Authors, and Journalist Leaders

Katelyn Beaty
Editor at Large, Christianity Today

Jeff Rasley
POLARIZED! The Case for Civility in the Time of Trump

Paul S. Edwards
The Deseret News

Malka Fenyvesi
The Civil Conversations Project, On Being

Patrick Langrell
The Catholic Weekly Australia

April Lawson
Editorial Assistant for David Brooks and Ross Douthat, The New York Times

Leah Libresco
Writer, Speaker, Instigator @

Greg Munford
This Week in Polarization

Paul Taylor
Political Analyst and Author

Krista Tippett
Host & Executive Producer, On Being

Michael Wear
Author, Reclaiming Hope: Lessons Learned in the Obama White House About the Future of Faith in America

Christopher White
National Correspondent, Crux

Barbara Whitehead
Author, The Divorce Culture and Why Are There No Good Men Left

Transportation Leaders

Nick Enright